Art therapy, dragon style

clc_dragonscale10

I’m currently working as an artist-in-residence with a group of very creative teens at a local specialized learning center. A key component of my program is to provide a safe and fun place to get creative—in other words, it’s a sort of art therapy program. (Though, for me personally, I rarely think of creating art as anything other than therapeutic.)

For my first few sessions, I decided to introduce a theme of dragons and magical creatures. I recently was able to roll out a workshop to build dragon scales in Korea and it worked so well, that I thought I would get these teens to try there hand at the same activity.

clc_dragonscale01

clc_dragonscale02

clc_dragonscale03

clc_dragonscale04

clc_dragonscale05

clc_dragonscale06

clc_dragonscale07

clc_dragonscale09

clc_dragonscale08

clc_dragonscale11

clc_dragonscale12

I knew the dragon scale project would serve as a nice warmup for us before we get into the more ambitious endeavor: dragon eggs.

Scale or egg, the process requires a lot of patience and attention to detail, but I have personally found it wonderfully cathartic.

We’re still finishing up the scales, but many of the students have now moved on to the egg building project. Along the way, we are sketching pictures of what will come out of the egg and we may even get to sculpt baby creatures as well.

Yep, we’ve got our own little hatchery going!

clc_egg01a

clc_egg01b

clc_egg01c

clc_egg02

clc_egg02a

clc_egg03

clc_egg4a

clc_egg04b

clc_egg05

I’ll be sure to post more photos of these creations as they progress. So far, they are looking great.

One thought on “Art therapy, dragon style

Leave a Reply

