Favorite doors of Shanghai

During my trip to Shanghai, I was able to find a lot of inspiration from the gardens, the architecture, and the overall sights and sounds of the city. Most of all, I found many wonderful doors!

Students, friends, and colleagues know I have a bit of a door obsession. I photograph them, write about them, and collect door knockers. I even have a trunk that is made out of an old door.

Here are some of my favorite doors and details that I was able to find during my recent trip to storied and exotic city of Shanghai. These come from Old Shanghai, Ancient Town in Qibao and the French Confession . . . or, otherwise, just here and there throughout the city.

oldshanghai-doorknockersquare

oldshanghai-doorlock

qibao-reddoorswithlionknockers

qibao-red-door-lionknocker

frenchconfession-door-swirls

frenchconfession-old-door

qibao-temple-exit-door-knocker

yugarden-doorwithtrees

yugarden-happydoorknocker

yugarden-exitdoor

yugarden-traditionalbrowndoorway

yugarden-traditionalbrowndoorway-detail

yugarden-traditionaldoor-square

old shanghai - gremlin door handle.JPG

yu-garden-door-knocker-sun-lion-01

Leave a Reply

