Making friends with Canadian authors in Seoul!

canadianembassy_group

I’ve been back from a dynamic trip to Korea for a couple of weeks. I discussed some of my adventures around Seoul last week, but am finally getting round to posting some details about the exciting event I participated in at the Canadian Embassy with fellow authors Kallie George and Dan Bar-el.

The event took place on Saturday, July 23rd at the Embassy’s Schofield Hall, with over a hundred students and parents from Canadian curriculum or international schools in attendance. Dan, Kallie, and are each involved with the Creative Writing Society of Canada, based in Vancouver, so our company as a whole was hosted by the embassy.

Dan, Kallie, and I had just landed the night before, so it’s safe to say we were a little bleary-eyed from the eleven-hour flight and the seventeen-hour time difference! In my experience from traveling abroad, however, I find it’s best to get right to it. And, after all, that’s what adrenaline is for!

I’ve done many presentations and workshops before, but there’s always something a little tricky about speaking to audiences with different cultural and linguistic backgrounds. Even though the kids attending our event were fluent in English, I knew it didn’t necessarily mean that my well-rehearsed jokes or anecdotes would connect. So I will admit to having some trepidation as I was preparing for the event. Thankfully, I had many friendly faces in the audience; since I’ve been to Korea many times before, I knew some of the students in attendance.

I did have the unenviable task of speaking first. Though, in retrospect, that was probably a good thing. My colleagues Dan and Kallie gave such amazing speeches, I didn’t have to fret about trying to outshine them. (If you have ever seen Dan Bar-el in action, you know that he is particularly difficult to outshine.)

Two other speakers were interspersed between myself, Kallie, and Dan. These were two of my long-time creative writing students, who each spoke a few minutes about the power of creativity and how writing has played an important role in their lives. It was pretty humbling to hear their words to imagine that I had played some small role in their exploration of creativity. I plan to post the transcript of their speeches in future posts!

After the speaking part of the event, the students in the audience broke into three groups and Dan, Kallie, and I each led one in a short creative writing activity. I had carefully packed and transported my dragon egg prop all the way to Korea for this very event and asked the students to imagine what would hatch out of it—and how. As you can imagine, there was quite the variety of descriptive responses!

This was also an opportunity for me to show the students some of my brainstorming journals (which, of course, go everywhere with me).

lef_showingsketchbook

The final thing was to do a book signing. Here’s the three of us busy at work!

dan_lee_signing

After the Embassy event, we were chaperoned to the KF Global Center where we were hosted by the Korean Reading Foundation, and spoke to a second audience of parents and students. This group was not fluent in English, so we had to deliver very different types of presentations, with each line being translated for us. Of course, so much about presenting is about timing, but when you need to accommodate the translator, it can really throw you an extra curveball or two! Still, I’m happy to report that everything mostly went without a hitch.

Dan, of course, made sure to greet the audience in Korean and then demanded that the translator translate his words into English! That’s Dan, for you. He can make anyone laugh!

lef_presentinglef_workshopkallie&dan_foundationfoundation_group

It was a real honor to get to participate in these events, and I am really thankful to the Canadian Embassy for hosting us.

Note: All photos featured in this post were taken by the Canadian Embassy.

Leave a Reply

