Designing dragon scales

dragonscale-griffin

I spent the last few weeks building a dragon egg prop. I had so much fun with this project, and I had enough material left over at the end of it, that I decided to experiment with making dragon scales.

I began by cutting shapes out of a plastic soda bottle, which had a natural curve well-suited for the shape of the scales. I decided that I wanted the scales to be heavy and sturdy, so experimented with different ways to achieve this.

For two of the scales, I shrouded the plastic base with a layer of plaster. For the third one, I glued a layer of leather on top. The leather one still seemed to flimsy, so I coated the back with plaster to give it extra weight.

dragonscale01-form

Once the plastering was done, I coated the scales in modpodge, which helped to smooth out any imperfections.

dragonscale02-modpodging

For one of the plastered scales along with the leather one, I decided that I would just proceed to painting. For the third one however, I decided to texturize it with acrylic beads. After this was done, I gave it another coat of modpodge.

dragonscale03-modpodging

Then it was time to paint!

dragonscale04-paintingdragonscale05-painting

Here are the final scales. The gold one, which was just painted plaster, didn’t really turn out, but was kind of my base experiment anyway. I’m quite happy with the leathery (green) scale and the more armored (red) one. Into the museum of magical artifacts they go!

dragonscale-golddragonscale-greendragonscale-red

One thought on “Designing dragon scales

Leave a Reply

