Advanced dragon egg building, part 3

I’m finally updating my progress on my dragon egg building. I call it “advanced” not because I’m doing anything that clever, but because this process is more advanced than the one I used for the previous prop I constructed.

After I finished bejeweling the surface, I coated the entire structure with mod podge.

morindianfiredragon15-modpodging.jpg

This took a whole day to dry and then I decided to spray paint the entire structure to provide a base color. This turned out to be a disaster. If I had been thinking clearly, I would have tested this paint out on some sample mod-podged jewels. For one thing, I didn’t like the color. I had picked the most metallic red I could find, but it came out too rose colored.

morindianfiredragon15-spraypainting

I decided to paint over the whole egg with a burnt orange color. However, the acrylic paint just didn’t bond properly to the spray paint beneath, bubbling in certain areas. It’s hard to see in the photo, but I just wasn’t satisfied!

morindianfiredragon17-orangebase

So, as a solution, I mod podged the whole egg again and then decided I better restart with a dark base and build up color from there.

morindianfiredragon18-modpodgeagain

This time, I painted the egg a dark metallic brown then started adding in different tones of red and metallic colors.

morindianfiredragon19-brownbasemorindianfiredragon20-redpaintingmorindianfiredragon21-redpaintingmorindianfiredragon23-redpainting

This is always a tricky and time-consuming process. I’m not actually sure what I want the final color to be. What I do know is that I don’t want any flat colors—there needs to be many gradations and textures to bring visual interest to the surface. So now I’m in the phase of adding fine detail and dry-brushing detail.

Almost there . . .

Leave a Reply

