Designing characters for the BC Library’s Summer Reading Club ~ Round 2

src02_sketches

A couple of weeks ago I posted some of my initial sketches that I’ve been working on for the BC Library Association’s 2016 summer reading club marketing material.

Round 1 resulted in the team picking the flying squirrel to be the pilot on our imaginary crew and the travel bug as our navigator. So, for Round 2, I’ve made a few refinements to these characters . . .

src02_squirrel01 src02_squirrel02

src02_travelbug2

However, the team also wanted to try out some bigger animals, so after flipping through my animal encyclopedia, I picked a few of my favorite creatures and produced the sketches below. My idea is that one of these bigger animals will serve as the crew’s engineer.

Desert Fox

src02_desertfox

Kangaroo

src02_kangaroo

Polar Bear

src02_polarbear

Rhino

src02_rhino

Who will make the cut? Well, we’ll just have to see whom the team picks . . .

Leave a Reply

