“Inspircation” Day 2: Marcie finds magic at Stone Henge

stonehenge-marciehealingstone

On Day 2 of our inspircation (vacation + inspiration), Marcie and I took my mom to Stone Henge.

It was quite the drive from our B&B in St. Mary Bourne—at one point, the rain pounded down so fiercely on the windshield that I could barely see. My mom implored me to pull over, but I figured it was actually safer to just keep going. Luckily, a few moments later, the rain turned to a trickle and, by the time we reached Stone Henge, had given way to clear skies.

I’d been to the site before, but several years ago, so was surprised to see that it had been completely redeveloped. Now you actually park, buy your tickets, then take a short shuttle bus up to the stones. We opted to get off part way and walk across a pasture towards the site, which I’m glad we did. To our left were burial mounds and slowly coming into view were the stones.

Stone Henge

There are many people who have told us in the past that Stone Henge “isn’t that great” or a “disappointment.” Since I had been to the site before, I knew what to expect—and that I certainly would not be disappointed. I love ancient sites, having visited many in different parts of the world. I found a strange and quiet calm at Stone Henge and this visit was different than the last. I’m glad I had this opportunity to visit these stones again, especially as I’m currently in the “gathering fuel” process for a new book idea and studying ancient spiritual rituals is integral part of this aim.

Stone Henge

After a lengthy stay at the stones, we returned to the visitor centre and toured the museum. There was a shaman (she was a she, but I don’t think the feminine form of “shaman” is “shawoman” so I’ll stick with shaman ) sitting in one corner with a wooden staff and  speaking to a family about energy. She certainly had an interesting look, wearing an elaborate head piece with antlers. Marcie was immediately drawn to this shaman, and asked if she could hold her staff. What took place afterwards was a lengthy . . . well, I would say exercise, in which Marcie and the shaman interacted, using the staff as a focal point to explore energy, resonance, and the relationship between the rational mind and the imagination.

stonehenge_marcie&shaman

Some feel a strong connection to this sort of spirituality, while some do not. I’m not always sure where I stand in these matters, but I do know that Marcie had a very authentic experience. She is an open and intuitive person and watching her interaction with the shaman was fascinating. One thing is for sure: By the end of it all, I ended up with exactly what I was looking for—inspirational fuel.

Leave a Reply

