Introducing Tuttleferd T. Thistletoe

As part of the celebration for the release of my new book, Kendra Kandlestar and the Search for Arazeen, I thought I would profile some of the new characters that are introduced in this final installment of the series.

Meet Tuttleferd T. Thistletoe!

Tuttleferd T. Thistletoe

Who he is:
He is one of the prominent inhabitants of the City on the Storm, a magical city that Kendra Kandlestar finds near the beginning of the book. Tuttleferd works as a close advisor and aid to the king of the city. He is friendly, very fussy, and very passionate about the culture and history of the mysterious city in the clouds.

Where he came from:
I’ve always loved fussy characters! When I was a kid, I wrote a story with a character called Thomas T. Tuttleberg. He was a quail and can be seen in this painting:

tuttleburg_quail

When I was first writing Kendra Kandlestar and the Box of Whispers, I stole this character from my earlier story, but turned him into a budgie bird. He was still fussy, as well as forgetful. His name became Tobin T. Tuttleburg. This is what he looked like:

tuttleburg

As you can see by the hat hanging on his perch, he was also a wizard. Eventually, this character became Kendra’s Uncle Griffinskitch. So instead of a bird, he became an Een, and lost the fussy personality (anyone who knows Uncle Griffinskitch, knows he’s quite the grouch).

Well, for many years, that was the end of this character with the three-part name and fussy demeanor. Then, when I was working on The Search for Arazeen, I realized I had a chance to resurrect this character. This is when he became a mole. Here’s my original sketch of him:

Tuttleferd and Charlo

You can see that his name is listed as Tuttleferd and that he is described as a servant for the city of Feenix. That name of Feenix was eventually dropped, but the “Tuttleferd” stuck to the character. I just ended up reinstating the “T” and the last name “Thistletoe.”

By the way, on this page, you can also see a sketch of another new character, Charlo Charmsong . . . but more on her in a future post!

4 thoughts on “Introducing Tuttleferd T. Thistletoe

Leave a Reply

