The Search for Arazeen . . . is over!

This week I received advance copies of my new book, Kendra Kandlestar and the Search for Arazeen.

Cracking open that box of freshly pressed books always fills me with a sense of excitement and trepidation. (This goes back to my very first publishing experience; I opened up the box only to discover they had printed the cover to Corranda’s Crown in low resolution, so was greeted by faded and pixelated artwork. Needless to say, they reprinted.)

This time, I wasn’t even in the country when the press proofs for the cover came, so it was up to the art director and publisher to approve the colors. For this cover, we made the decision of going black and gray . . . it may seem an odd choice for a children’s fantasy book, but it goes well with the color scheme of the rest of the series and, more importantly, it ties in thematically to Kendra’s journey in this final book in the series.

No need to worry about how the cover on this book turned out. It looks fabulous and, in many ways, my favorite of the series.

Kendra Kandlestar and the Search for Arazeen - advance copies

The official release date of the book isn’t until April, but my wife and I are off to work at a school in Bangkok as artists-in-residence for the next couple of weeks, so I coerced my publisher into getting me some copies before we left, so I can show them off.

On this blog, I’ve posted a lot of the brainstorming, sketches, and inspirations that contributed to the creation of this book. It’s been a labor—I’ve written many books before, but never one that had to end a series. It’s an odd feeling to line all the books up on the shelf and see that it’s really happened, that it’s really finished.

The Chronicles of Kendra Kandlestar

The series is complete. There were so many agonizing twists and turns along the way, but I’m glad that I can sit back now and see that I was able to finish Kendra’s journey in the way that I wanted.

All loose ends are tied up, all story lines resolved. Now just time to wait for the official release date and to see if my readers share my satisfaction!

Leave a Reply

