The boy with the inside out shirt

I’ll be co-teaching a class with children’s author Kallie George about picture books and illustrated books in the new year, which has led me to doing a lot of drawing and sketching recently.

In past years I’ve been terrible at keeping a lot of my foundational character design work, so I decided to have some fun by refining the visuals of a new character, one that has no connection to my previous illustrated books like Kendra Kandlestar or I’ll Follow the Moon.

For now, let’s just call this character “the boy with the inside out shirt.” He’ll be one of the examples I show my students in the new year!

boyinsideoutshirt-sketch

boyinsideoutshirt-labels  boywithinsideoutshirt

Leave a Reply

