Only minor explosions in the magic potions lab

Here are some photos from my latest “Magic Potions” workshop.

I don’t deliver this one very often, as it is rather hard to scrounge up all the ingredients. And then there’s the aftermath. It can all be rather exhausting. ( A student’s mothers said to me afterwards, “I  commend you for this. You have a lot of energy.”)

But when you see an eyeball floating in a brew of pixie juice, mummy dust, and burning acid . . . well, it’s all worth it:

hl_potion_02

This workshop doesn’t look like it on the surface, but it actually has a lot of educational writing value. It is an excellent way to teach the five senses. The young wizard’s apprentices record their observations as they concoct their enchanted elixirs: what their potions look like, smell like, sound like, and feel like to stir. Of course, I don’t let them taste them. That has been a problem in the past. This time, just to cover myself, I made them sign a waiver:

hl_potion_01

Here’s some other photos of the activity in progress . . .

hl_potion_14

hl_potion_12

hl_potion_11

hl_potion_09

 

hl_potion_07

hl_potion_06

hl_potion_05

hl_potion_04

hl_potion_03

 

There is usually a few explosions in this workshop. Thankfully, this time, there were only two of note . . .

hl_potion_08

hl_potion_10

At the end of this workshop I always receive a common complaint: “Why can’t we take our potions home?” I try to explain that riding home in the back of mom’s car with an open cup of a concoction that includes burning acid, basilisk blood and slime of toad is not a very good idea. I remedied this problem for this class, by bringing little vials so that I could still a portion of each potion and give it to the students. Alas, the bottles are too small to fit an entire goblin eye. But, as one mother said at the end, “Well, at least the eye ball goop is in the vial.”

hl_potion_15

You can catch a closer glimpse of many of the ingredients in my current kit by visiting my Pinterest page.

One thought on “Only minor explosions in the magic potions lab

Leave a Reply

