Black out poems from my young writers

One of my favorite activities to do in my creative writing workshops this past year has been black out poetry, which I first learned about in Autin Kleon’s Steal Like An Artist. Usually, I supply the raw source for this activity, depending on the theme of the workshop. For example, I’ve used ancient myths, folktales, or even Christmas carols.

However, I decided to approach this activity differently in my writers’ club. These writers are older and a bit more experienced, so I printed off random pages from their existing manuscripts then had them “carve out” their own words to create an original poem.

I was really pleased with the results. This activity kind of ended up combining editing and looking at personal writing in a whole new way.

jacob-blackoutpoem02

paul-blackoutpoem02

ethan-blackoutpoem

jun-blackoutpoem

amy-blackoutpoem

dayne-blackoutpoem02

eli-blackoutpoem02

stephanie-blackoutpoem01

Leave a Reply

