Inspirations from Tokyo

tokyo_asakasu_night

I’ve stopped off in Japan on my way home from leading the Monsters & Mythology camp in Korea. I always love to visit new places, especially those with traditional or ancient architecture.

As such, it was with great zeal that I visited Sensō-ji, an ancient Buddhist temple in Asakusa. There were many details to fill me with inspiration.

tokyo_sensoujitemple_blossoms

tokyo_sensoujitemple_pagoda

tokyo_sensoujitemple_lion

tokyo_sensoujitemple_lamp

Anyone who knows me, knows I love to “collect” doors. I found a few more to add to my gallery.

tokyo_sensoujitemple_door_gold

tokyo_sensoujitemple_door_gold_detail02

tokyo_sensoujitemple_door_gold_detail01

tokyo_sensoujitemple_door

tokyo_door_to_dead

This doorway I came across in Asakusu, where I’m staying. I was amused that it was protected by two stone threshold guardians—and a real one.

tokyo_door_cat&guardians

More adventures await tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

