Weapons of Unger: New artwork from Kendra Kandlestar 5

In previous Kendra Kandlestar books I have always shown the Ungers carrying fairly traditional weapons (axes, spears, and the like). In the latest Kendra Kandlestar book, the Ungers find themselves engaged in a full-scale war, so I thought I would give them a new set of weapons to help emphasize their barbaric nature and the desperate nature of their circumstance.

A few years ago, my friend James McCann gave me an excellent book called Swords: An Artist’s Devotion by Ben Boos. Flipping through the pages of wonderful artwork, I found plenty of inspiration . . . below is just a few of the sketches I’ve produced thus far.

Unger weapons.

Leave a Reply

