I hate eggs

Krakes hatching.Every kid who meets me knows this. In fact, they gleefully tease me about it. Well, I tend to take such things and use them as fuel for inspiration.

In Kendra Kandlestar and the Shard from Greeve, I dropped poor Kendra right smack dab in the middle of a giant Krake hatchery, just as hundreds of eggs were about to hatch. Of course, if you are at all familiar with that story, then you know that we didn’t get to see the eggs actually hatch. Seems like a shame, so I made sure for Book IV that we revisit that eggicious locale so that we can witness the birth of hundreds of Krake chicks (or Krakelings, as they’re known) all at once.

I actually think the baby Krakes are quite adorable and cute. And there will even be a scene in which Kendra and Oki get to ride the Krakelings. This not only serves a delightful fun, but satisfies the requests of one of my readers (you know who you are, Matthew) who has implored me to have Kendra go on a Krake ride. I’m not sure this scene will turn out quite as Matthew had hoped—but I do my best. After all, I am just the humble chronicler of Kendra’s adventures, and am not always exactly in control of how they turn out.

Krake ride.

3 thoughts on “I hate eggs

  1. I love the art! I sure hope there are no bumps on the road when they ride the Krakelings!

Leave a Reply

