A perilous plunge

A perilous plunge.It’s been a while since I’ve posted any news on the progress of Kendra Kandlestar and the Crack in Kazah. I’ve been putting plenty of work into it; it’s just been going slowly as I fine-tune the story and work on the illustrations.

I’ll try to get back in the habit of posting new pictures as I complete them. Of course, I can’t show you everything I’m working on, but I’m sure a picture here and there won’t ruin the story for you!

In the illustration at the right, I tried to capture Kendra in a moment of drowning. The place where she is drowning is pretty important—but you’ll just have to wait to find out where exactly that is. The little fish was an afterthought. I didn’t have him in the original sketch, and so didn’t leave room for  him when I did the inking. So I just drew him separately then added him in Photoshop.

The illustration below depicts an Een badger. He is a minor background character in the story, so will most likely go unnamed in the actual book. However, I often like to name my characters, even if those names don’t make it into the books, and the moniker I’ve assigned for this ferocious-looking fellow is Timmons Thunderclaws. (If you’re one of those readers who remembers every little detail in my books, then you might recall Winter Woodsong mentioning Timmons Thunderclaws in The Shard from Greeve. He never did make an appearance during that adventure, so I thought it would be fun to sneak him into this new book.)

Timmons Thunderclaws.

One thought on “A perilous plunge

  1. Haha! I remember! It looks like the Een Teen is trying to help Kendra from drowning (I recognize the hand :D), Excellent art Mr. Fodi!

Leave a Reply

