Old enemies made young

Burdock BrownA few weeks ago, I posted a picture of Uncle Griffinskitch in his younger days, and today I’ve decided to post a youthful picture of another character. This time it’s that villain my readers just seem to love to hate: Burdock Brown.

As you can see, Burdock was not only a lot taller when he was forty years young, but he had a great deal more hair. He still loved his fancy clothes though; Burdock shuns the traditional attire of an Een wizard (humble robes and capes) for bright colours and fancy buttons. In short, he’s just pompous.

One of the most joyful parts about writing Kendra Kandlestar and the Crack in Kazah is that it has allowed me to explore in detail the past of some of the most renown characters in the Land of Een. Drawing these characters has also been a great deal of fun. Of course, when I first wrote Kendra Kandlestar and the Box of Whispers and conceived of these characters, I never anticipated that I would have to one day imagine what they looked like when they were  younger!

Burdock BrownI’m not sure if I have a need to draw any of the other characters when they were younger. Perhaps Winter Woodsong would be a fun one to de-age. I’ll keep you posted . . .

In the meantime, let me know what you think of the youthful Burdock! Do you think he has grown more or less villainous with age?

2 thoughts on “Old enemies made young

Leave a Reply

