The Pen is mightier than the Lightsaber

The Strange Case of Origami YodaAnyone who knows me at all knows that I am a huge Star Wars fan. So it was with great delight that I discovered the middle-grade book, The Strange Case of Origami Yoda.

I actually received a Advanced Reader Copy of this book way back in February from my friend Kallie George who managed to procure it while attending a conference in Boston. As soon as she saw it, she knew I had to have it. And she was right!

Well, I always like to think there is a lot of Yoda in some of my characters. Uncle Griffinskitch and Winter Woodsong in particular seem to channel the Force. And there’s a new character in Kendra Kandlestar and the Crack in Kazah who is particularly Yoda-like too.

Uncle Griffinskitch teaches Kendra Kandlestar

Well, there was no doubt in mind that I had to incorporate The Strange Case of Origami Yoda in my writing workshops. I’m pleased to say that it has been a big hit with my students, whether they are fans of Star Wars or not (though between you and me, I think I’ve had some converts).

And, one of the best things about this book is that it includes instructions for how to make your very own Origami Yoda! Check out these creations out from my students, some complete with pencil or pen lightsabers.

Origami Yoda

Origami Yoda

Origami Yoda

Awesome, they are!

Of course, if I had any mechanical ability at all, I would attempt to construct a Kendra Kandlestar origami figure. But I think I’ll leave that up to all of you Wiz Kids out there. If you make one, photograph it and send it to me so I can post it! Remember: do it, or do not—there is no try.

6 thoughts on “The Pen is mightier than the Lightsaber

Leave a Reply

